Taking a graduate data science job offer, or doing a MSc in Statistics

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
donnachadh

Taking a graduate data science job offer, or doing a MSc in Statistics

Post by donnachadh » Wed Aug 07, 2019 9:43 pm

Hi guys. Recent graduate here. I’ve had the goal of starting a career in Data Science/Analytics, for the past few years. I fell that it is an incredibly interesting field, and is in very high demand at the moment. I have just completed my bachelors degree in an unrelated field (Environmental Biology), so I have always planned on completing a Masters in Statistics to make myself more employable in the field.I’ve completed a few online courses and know basic levels of coding so I am not a complete beginner.

I have been accepted for a Masters in Statistics starting in September, which is about a year and a half long. Just today however, my summer internship has offered me a full time graduate position in Data Analytics.

I don’t know where to go from here now. I’m inclined to take them up on their offer, because after all, I will be entering the field I want to make my career in. What I am concerned about however, is that 5 years or so down the line, not having a masters degree, or even any relevant degree to my field, may prevent me from reaching higher levels in the field. That I will always be fighting my way to legitimise myself.

Should I just bite the bullet and get the masters while I am still in the studying mindset and don’t have any dependants or obligations? Would I be better served using that to leverage higher paying jobs down the line? Do you think that is the better investment in the long term? As it is a newish field I have heard some things about industry experience going farther than college education, but it’s all really hearsay.