Advice for Job Search (Attorneys)

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
markesquire

Advice for Job Search (Attorneys)

Post by markesquire » Tue Jul 09, 2019 11:37 am

I am an attorney, and would appreciate guidance in evaluating whether/how to find a higher-paying position. I have been practicing for 10 years, and I am pretty comfortable in my current position, but I am beginning to notice that I am paid less than colleagues with similar experience.

My Background: I attended non-prestigious state schools in the Midwest because I was offered full rides for college and law school, and wanted to remain debt-free. I started as a litigation associate at a mid-sized regional firm in the Midwest (3 years), then clerked for a federal judge (2 years), and have been working in-house as a litigator in a HCOL city (5 years).

My Current Position: I currently earn $125k. That's more than enough to cover my expenses, but my anecdotal research shows that it is relatively low, given my experience and HCOL market. My company has been struggling and has only given 2% raises for the last several years (not enough to keep up with inflation, let alone cost of living, or increased value/performance), and there is no sign of that changing. It's also extremely bureaucratic, and they do not negotiate individually - they provide accross-the-board raises and just let people leave if they present an ultimatum (not great for morale). But my current position has a lot of qualitative benefits: the work-life balance is generally very good (telework, very reasonable hours), I like my boss and colleagues, and I am performing well.