For those who earn $500k+ per year. How'd you do that?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
FI4LIFE

For those who earn $500k+ per year. How'd you do that?

Post by FI4LIFE » Fri May 31, 2019 10:00 am

I chose a career where I knew I'd never make millions. It is stable with good benefits and higher than average pay. Sometimes I dream of chasing the big bucks and wonder what specific skills have lead to people earning ultra-high incomes. If you earn over $500k/year, what's your story?

cal91

Re: For those who earn $500k+ per year. How'd you do that?

Post by cal91 » Fri May 31, 2019 10:03 am

I'd like to hear too... even if only over $200k.

I'm a structural engineer making $90k + benefits. Sounds decent but factor in 4 kids + wife, single income, and living in California it's lean living. Always thought in high school and college I wouldn't have to live this lean having my PE stamp. Even considering starting off on my own.

LiveSimple

Post by LiveSimple » Fri May 31, 2019 10:08 am

$200+ K is possible, if you are technology, either sales, consulting or premium coder, etc.

Physician is a known path... entrepreneurship is another path

Interested to know how to make $300 K in technology, apart from the bay area jobs... :D

rai

Post by rai » Fri May 31, 2019 10:10 am

Two physicians couple fairly common.

Unusual for one physician to make $500K+
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans" - John Lennon. | | "You say that money, isn't everything | But I'd like to see you live without it." - Silverchair

Wellfleet

Post by Wellfleet » Fri May 31, 2019 10:15 am

Tough to do on one salary. How about technical sales? Selling those manufactured bridge components must be lucrative?

What I've seen in my limited experience:

1. Tech worker + tech worker.
2. Tech worker + civil engineer
3. Nurse + engineer
4. Teacher + tech worker