FIRE in 6-7 years vs 20+ years

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
Cyanide123

FIRE in 6-7 years vs 20+ years

Post by Cyanide123 » Mon May 27, 2019 5:22 pm

I am a physician graduating from residency in 1 month. I have a contract set in place where I'm making a minimum of 435k that starts in July. My wife is also a resident physician, she graduates in 2 years. We expect her to have an income around ~200k after she is done.

Residency training was very draining. I think I'm walking out burned out even before my career has officially started. My initial plan in life was to save 200k+ a year until we hit 4M in assets and then retire and live on 3 percent of retirement funds, simple 3 fund portfolio investments only. According to my calculations, that will take a good 18-20 years and I'll probably hit 50. I'm currently 30, spouse is 26, we have a baby on the way.