29 year old engineer introduction and seeking advice

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
TheFrugalEngineer

29 year old engineer introduction and seeking advice

Post by TheFrugalEngineer » Sun May 26, 2019 9:14 am

Hello,

I am a long time reader of the bogleheads forum and have been using this as my main investment strategy. I have a degree in mechanical engineer and i am currently working as a quality/manufacturing/metrology engineer for a small (<30 salary employees) automotive manufacturing plant.

I am currently making $50,000 and have been at the current place of employment since graduating 3 years ago. my curent investments are as follows:

25k in my IRA using VBIAX (Vanguard balanced index fund admiral shares),
45K in company 401k with 3 year vested out of 5 distributed 50/50 into VTSAX (Vanguard total stock market) and VTINX (Vanguard retirement income fund),
55K in emergency fund distributed in 10% VMMXX (vanguard prime money market), 70% VBTLX (Vanguard total bond market), and 20% VFIAX (Vanguard 500 admiral shares).

My current investment not including emergency fund I want to be around 60/40 stock to bond. I max out my 401k and Ira every year due to my current low expenses.