DIY amendment to Trust?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
Luckywon

DIY amendment to Trust?

Post by Luckywon » Wed May 01, 2019 12:00 pm

I have previously used an attorney to create and amend my revocable living trust. Previous Amendment was to change beneficiaries. I am thinking of drafting another Amendment myself, again to change the beneficiary designations, using the previous Amendment as a template. I am a California resident. Would appreciate hearing thoughts on whether this is a reasonable approach or is a bad idea.

Grt2bOutdoors

Re: DIY amendment to Trust?

Post by Grt2bOutdoors » Wed May 01, 2019 12:06 pm

Is there anything in the Trust itself and/or the amendment that cross-reference each other? Your modification may be determined to be invalid because it does not satisfy the terms of the trust. I'm not an attorney, but when modifying contracts I prefer to have qualified counsel do the work, they do this for a living and if anything goes wrong you have recourse. You do it yourself, you become deceased and if trust is invalidated, now your heirs have a real pickle on their hands. JMO.
"One should invest based on their need, ability and willingness to take risk - Larry Swedroe" Asking Portfolio Questions

Topic Author
Luckywon

Post by Luckywon » Wed May 01, 2019 12:36 pm

Grt2bOutdoors wrote:
Wed May 01, 2019 12:06 pm
Is there anything in the Trust itself and/or the amendment that cross-reference each other? Your modification may be determined to be invalid because it does not satisfy the terms of the trust. I'm not an attorney, but when modifying contracts I prefer to have qualified counsel do the work, they do this for a living and if anything goes wrong you have recourse. You do it yourself, you become deceased and if trust is invalidated, now your heirs have a real pickle on their hands. JMO.