Bogleheads, why won't anyone hire me?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
jb1

Bogleheads, why won't anyone hire me?

Post by jb1 » Tue Apr 09, 2019 9:21 pm

Hey BH, at the ripe age of 28, I think I have reached my tipping point. I have been working 12 hour days for the last 2 years, and it is certainly starting to take its toll on me.

From 8-5 I work for a soccer goal company moving soccer goal components (easily 3k pounds a day, working with typical factory workers), and from 515-815 i am coaching soccer (which I somewhat enjoy).

I went to school in NJ got a degree in business, got a grad degree in healthcare admin, graduated in 2015, and after 4 years of applying to over 200 jobs along the east coast, I am part of a statistic that is working a job that didnt require a degree.

Part of it hurts me, I am a very hardworker compared to anyone I know my age, however they all have actual careers, while I just have a job. I come home, my body aches, I have 0 time to myself, even on weekends I am driving 2 hours to coach a soccer game. On top of that I am only making 50k a year.

I do not know what to do anymore. Due to my hustle, I have 100k in a vanguard account, own a house in which roommates pay the mortgage, 15k in my bank account, however it would be nice to actually get a career now and enjoy my life.

My resume was redone numerous times by "HR" professionals, other people high uo in companies etc. I have all the buzzwords needed.

Is it a matter of luck?

I always will have a chip on my shoulder bc I do believe it is who you know, not what you know. My next venture is to get a real estate license, I have given up on working for others.

sawhorse

Re: Bogleheads, why wont anyone hire me?

Post by sawhorse » Tue Apr 09, 2019 9:28 pm

Wow, that's really tough. What type of jobs are you applying for?

yangtui