Hourly vs. retainer for a financial planner

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
Greenman72

Hourly vs. retainer for a financial planner

Post by Greenman72 »

I've mentioned on here that I'm a CPA in a tax practice, and I'm also a registered rep. (Please hold your applause.) I'm also a PFS and CFA, and as such, I can offer "financial advice" through my RIA. And after tax season, I plan to start offering financial planning services to our clients.

(Just to note--since I'm an accountant, I can use the accountant's exclusion as long as the advice is "incidental to the practice of public accounting". However, that only goes so far. EG - I can tell a client that municipal bonds are not subject to tax, but I cannot recommend an asset allocation or a specific mutual fund. That is outside the realm of "public accountancy".)

I plan to use the "financial planning" umbrella to do everything that is not specific to portfolio management (asset allocation, asset location, security selection, and monitor & rebalance). This includes:
- estate planning (will, living wil, HIPAA, durable POA, medical POA, financial POA, etc.)
- retirement planning (estimating retirement budget, creating a savings plan, monitoring progress, spending strategies)
- Social Security optimization (both in advance AND at the point of retiring)
- insurance analysis (I have both a life & health AND a property & casualty license)
- Elder planning (TBH, I have very little experience or knowledge in this area)
- Philanthopy (split interest trusts, qualified charitable distributions, donations of appreciated stock)
- Intergenerational wealth transfers (estate tax planning, postmortem tax planning)
- Business succession (buy-sell agreements, key man life insurance)
- Miscellaneous, but oft-overlooked things (e.g. beneficiary designations and 401k optimization)