How can I get a handle on income taxes in retirement?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
Archimedes

How can I get a handle on income taxes in retirement?

Post by Archimedes » Sun Mar 31, 2019 6:18 am

I was a fairly typical professional for much of my career, earning in the 200’s for the first decade or so, then in the 300’s for a number of years. Later in my career I started my own business and have found unimaginable success. We currently have loosened the purse strings and gone hog wild, spending on a very plush lifestyle, but this ends up being only a small percentage of our current inflated income.

Current situation:
Spending on living life is around 12% of income, exclusive of taxes.
Spending on taxes is around 44% of income.
Investment, mostly to taxable, is the other 44% of current income.

As I begin to ponder the concept of retirement, my goal is to have some peace of mind. To have peace of mind I need to have an idea of what my expenses will be in retirement. While I have a solid handle on what we spend to live, I am afraid of the unknown and the uncontrollable, specifically the taxes we will pay in retirement. I know that taxes will go down, but by how much? Right now, as a result in the big bump in income, the amount of tax we pay feels incomprehensible. I also know that future RMDs alone will keep us in the highest tax bracket when we reach that age.

Is there any resource out there that might help someone in our particular situation figure out what it will cost us to live in retirement, specifically with respect to taxes?

Current net worth is over 50 times our current spend, exclusive of taxes. However, net worth is only around 12 times our current spend, inclusive of what we currently pay in taxes. We anticipate perhaps another 35 years of existence on this earth.