Should I give more money to a family member?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
jessikaur

Should I give more money to a family member?

Post by jessikaur » Wed Mar 13, 2019 10:53 am

I am a doctor. I make much more money than my little sister. I'm 37, she is 33.
So for five years I took care of my father financially, emotionally etc. without the help of either of my sisters. The total cost if it's just dollar for dollar is about 60K, but if I think of lost of rental income (he stayed in my condo that I normally rent out) it comes to about 80K

Anyway, when he died, he left me everything, (except one other policy that he placed in my little sister's name) and a will that stated I should "reimburse" myself, then use the left over money and split it equally between the three of us sisters.

So for complicated reasons, (guilt over his death, grieving etc) I didn't want any of the money that he left at the time that he passed away, plus, I was working multiple jobs, and in that respect, I was making enough money. So I wanted to give it to my little sister to help her with buying a house, for her wedding, and to help her go back to school, goals that I thought my dad would've appreciated.

Anyway, so I gave her 1/3 of the total money, I gave my older sister her equal share, according to the will, and I was not planning on taking anything.

In that time period, my younger sister, quit her job, moved into a mansion, and took two international trips to expensive countries (spain and new zealand, also she was taking guitar and piano lessons) she also applied to go to grad school.