Accounting for house in net worth, expenses

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
Njm8845

Accounting for house in net worth, expenses

Post by Njm8845 » Sun Mar 10, 2019 4:44 pm

I am new to home owning and am very torn about how to account for this new asset class in my various spreadsheets.

1. Net worth. Accounting for our house seems simple enough with the equation “Assets - Liabilities”. The hard part for me is determining what exactly these terms mean.
Assets - do you have your house appraised every couple years?
Liabilities - is this my loan amount (principle) or the amount I will end up paying (principle + interest)?
I see my total debts as what I will owe the bank, not just the amount I borrowed. However, if I consider that, then it seems like for Assets, I should consider what I will sell my home for as opposed to what it’s currently worth. And then my mind starts thinking of factoring in inflation and it all seems overly complicated.

2. Expenses. I have tracked expenses in a very detailed way since I took my first job. One of the categories is “housing”. It’s easy enough to input my monthly mortgage payments, no different than what I’ve done with rent. However, how do you handle the down payment? I put 30% down and this large sum will obviously blow any savings goal out of the water. I also plan on making extra payments occasionally. Should these be considered “housing” expenses as well? I’m not one to generally view my house as an investment, but these could be considered investments and not expenses, as I’m building equity. I’ve toyed with the idea of only putting the interest payments in as expenses, and not considering any amount of principle an “expense”.

LadyGeek
Site Admin

Re: Accounting for house in net worth, expenses

Post by LadyGeek » Sun Mar 10, 2019 6:26 pm