Cost basis date to use for inherited stock

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
gensuki

Cost basis date to use for inherited stock

Post by gensuki » Fri Mar 08, 2019 8:38 am

My husband inherited a stock when his mother died. She died Jan 2013 but the stock didn't get transferred from her trust to my husband's account until December 2014. He sold all the stock in 2018. Would his cost basis be the day of his mother's death or the day it was transferred to my husband's account. Thank you.

ionball

Re: Cost basis date to use for inherited stock

Post by ionball » Fri Mar 08, 2019 9:12 am

Date of death. I'm not a qualified expert, so double check.

IowaFarmWife

Post by IowaFarmWife » Fri Mar 08, 2019 9:16 am

When I inherited stock, the cost basis was based on the date of death.

dcnut

Post by dcnut » Fri Mar 08, 2019 10:02 am

The cost basis for inherited stock is usually the date of death. In some circumstances, however, the administrator/executer/trustee may choose to value the estate on the alternative valuation date: six months after death. The inheritor's cost basis is the same as the estate valuation. On the tax return, write "inherited" for the date acquired.

GT99

Post by GT99 » Fri Mar 08, 2019 10:40 am

gensuki wrote:
Fri Mar 08, 2019 8:38 am
My husband inherited a stock when his mother died. She died Jan 2013 but the stock didn't get transferred from her trust to my husband's account until December 2014. He sold all the stock in 2018. Would his cost basis be the day of his mother's death or the day it was transferred to my husband's account. Thank you.
I literally just had my mother ask her CPA this question for stocks received from my father. He said you can use date of death OR 6 months after date of death.

Geologist

Post by Geologist » Fri Mar 08, 2019 10:45 am

GT99 wrote:
Fri Mar 08, 2019 10:40 am
gensuki wrote: