Legally Mine asset protection, family limited partnerships

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
sambb

Legally Mine asset protection, family limited partnerships

Post by sambb »

I went with a friend to a presentation to medical professionals (I didnt go as a medical professional myself).
This company spoke about asset protection from lawsuits including family limited partnerships (?) or something else to keep assets out of lawsuits, and domiciled in Alaska. Also tax strategies to rent one's house to oneself. There were other things wiht specific IRS codes.
Any information on this? It was protection vs lawsuits (personal or professional)
toofache32

Re: Legally Mine asset protection, family limited partnerships

Post by toofache32 »

Doctor here. I have never attended their seminars. These guys have been covered on a few different medical forums I participate in. As I remember it, they like to obtain "legitimacy" by selling themselves to local medical societies to make physicians think they have already somehow been vetted. They tout plans which are pitched as unique to a mostly unaware physician audience, which can actually be obtained anywhere. They instill a sense of urgency on this and try to get docs to sign up ASAP. As I remember, they require about $5000 for that with a money back guarantee. I have heard from several physicians that a few days later did their homework and realized their mistake, and never got their $5000 back. Do a search here on bogleheads, there are several threads on this.

https://www.texmed.org/Template.aspx?id=33741

https://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/le ... ah-1284936
afan

Post by afan »

The biggest risk seems to be using the schemes they will set up. That could get one into serious tax and fraud exposure.