Another MBA question: Military transition

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
five2one

Another MBA question: Military transition

Post by five2one » Sun Feb 24, 2019 10:38 am

Planning for my post military life and exploring MBAs to improve business savvy.
I’m considering Kansas University as it is local to me and looks like a good value.
I’m a combat arms officer (artillery) and would be a O-5 so a bit older at about 45.
It would be my second masters with my first being in management from central mich university.
At that age, I am very physically/mentally fit and looking for second career.

While I’m undecided about post mil career fields, I’m attracted to something in IT/tech, business development, banking/finance industry, or program management. Defense industry is also an option but I partly skeptical given military~ish culture that can follow given quantity of post mil employees and I’m concerned about institutionalized mentality.

That said, I have some knowledge in the various topics of those fields but no credentials and my banking/finance interest is a passing interest given the tangible/concrete nature of it. I dont have a desire to be office bound and am attracted to personal engagement and relationships aspect of business development. The IT/tech interest is from my current focus where I use various digital computer systems to support operations through analysis, recommendations to leaders, etc. The program management aspect is just from watching others transition with a similar profile. Not opposed to traveling nor relocation but would refuse high-threat areas (Iraq, Afghan, etc.).