Side gig ideas with minimal requirements?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
LiterallyIronic

Side gig ideas with minimal requirements?

Post by LiterallyIronic » Thu Feb 21, 2019 11:58 am

I'm a software developer by trade. But I could always use some more money to hit my mortgage and other goals harder.

I've been trying to think of something I could do after work to bring in more income. However, a "true" second job, like Walmart stocker, McDonald's cashier, or pizza deliverer are off the table. Anything with a set schedule is unacceptable. I need to be able to work my regular day job as much as necessary, even staying until midnight with no notice, if necessary. This makes it impossible to have another job that wants me to be there at a particular time. Also, any developer-related jobs are off the table as well. The last thing I want to do is go home and write code after writing code during the day. And I'm not remotely good enough to do a development job by myself - I can't make someone a website by myself, let alone write someone a program. It should be something completely menial, not something that tries to bring in as much money per hour as possible.

I could think of Uber/Lyft as being something that allows you do work whenever you feel like it, but they require cars that are 10 years old or newer, which I don't have. We also have no spare bedrooms, etc for renting out.