Layoff Rehire and Career Options

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
Pickle11

Layoff Rehire and Career Options

Post by Pickle11 » Fri Feb 15, 2019 4:27 pm

Thanks in advance for the great service you provide here. I will now become a regular poster after lurking for years
Age 34
Wife 33
2 Kids
Salary 77k
Bonus 10k
MCOL city

Wife works and carries health insurance. Will continue to work

HHI 160k, Net worth 750k

I have been working for a company for a real estate 10 years gradually progressing but driving down an unremarkable career path. I have always been reliable, Company was very humane but has been downsizing the entire time I have been there. Company has been sold to a private equity buyer with management relocated to coastal cities

I was informed of my layoff Feb 1 with term date in mid summer. Fast forward to this week company wants me to stay and sees a need for my position for now. Will rehire to fill my position.

I will be eligible for severance if I decide to leave.

Severance payout is approximately 50k (60% of salary), they have offered me approximately 20k to stay with 1/2 payable today 1/2 in six months.

Initial thoughts, I am missing out out on career growth elsewhere and have a huge runway to find a new job. This is gift to be paid to a situation I wanted to progress out of. If the stay payout was higher this would be difficult. I estimate their costs to replace me is 75-100k (50k severance, 20k payroll overlap for 3 months of training and 10k recruiter commission.)

Cons, young family and new job could be more stressful ( any new job would be).

Thoughts?

BanditKing

Re: Layoff Rehire and Career Options

Post by BanditKing » Fri Feb 15, 2019 4:54 pm

Pickle11 wrote:
Fri Feb 15, 2019 4:27 pm
Will rehire to fill my position.
What do you mean here? Just that they will rehire you to reill?
Pickle11 wrote: