Preparing Your Own Taxes

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
Eagle123

Preparing Your Own Taxes

Post by Eagle123 »

Hi All,

For the past 3 years, I've prepared my taxes using Turbo tax. However, this year I would like to be more involved and actually fill out the forms to better understand all of the details and calculations. I have a pretty simple tax situation (single, no dependents, not a homeowner, 1 source of income etc.) so I feel confident that I can accurately report everything.

Eventually, I would like to start preparing taxes for others as a side hustle, so want to become more familiar with the entire process. Also, I'm an active CPA so I have a fairly strong base of knowledge regarding taxes.

Reaching out for any advice on how I can get started and what is the best way to actually proceed (I really have no idea where to begin).
Should I just use the IRS website, print out the forms and mail in the old fashioned way? Additionally, for state taxes, I live/work in NY.

Would really appreciate any advice, thank you!
barnaclebob

Re: Preparing Your Own Taxes

Post by barnaclebob »

You could go to form view in turbotax on past years returns so you understand how the calcs are done on the actual forms. After looking at that I'm fine with paying $55 to have the program fill it all out.
barreg

Post by barreg »

If you get the forms and associated instructions from the IRS and don't have super complicated tax situations (e.g. depreciation, etc.) it's not hard to do your taxes yourself.