Small business partial ownership

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
B4Xt3r

Small business partial ownership

Post by B4Xt3r » Tue Feb 12, 2019 7:22 am

Hi All,

I may be able to buy 30-40% of partial ownership of a small business in exchange for free part-time labor for a negotiated period of time. I believe in the online educational service they intend to provide, though I have done no market research & the business right now has no revenue. I would create most of the educational content, which is crucially valuable to the company. The owner would be responsible for most of the business/account/paying the bills side at the beginning, and there might be another person for web-design.

I'm a complete novice at the small business side of things, so my question for you is, what should I be weighing in my mind? How should I go about deciding if this is worth it?

I know that I'm not giving much to go off of, which likely reflects how little I know about the process. Sorry!

Thanks as always,

-B4xt3r

riverguy

Re: Small business partial ownership

Post by riverguy » Tue Feb 12, 2019 8:26 am

Why would you buy something in exchange for free labor that is crucially valuable to the company?

What's there to really think about? It's a startup. They have nothing. It's worth nothing right now. No one can tell you if it's worth it or not. That's a personal question based on your life and where you think the company can go.

daheld

Post by daheld » Tue Feb 12, 2019 8:29 am

If there's no revenue, any valuation is purely speculative. It's a personal decision that I'm not sure someone else on an anonymous internet board will be able to answer for you.