How to Report CME Reimbursement

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
southerndoc

How to Report CME Reimbursement

Post by southerndoc » Mon Feb 11, 2019 10:01 am

I'm an independent contractor who receives a CME allowance each year from the health system where I practice. I am an independent contractor for a contract management group and not for the health system.

Last year, I received an $800 reimbursement for books I ordered from Amazon.com. Today I received $2600 to reimburse me for society dues, journals, etc. which were purchased in 2018.

How do I report this on taxes since I was told I will not receive a 1099-MISC for this.

1. For the $800, do I claim the business deduction for books and then report the income as personal miscellaneous not reported income in TurboTax? This would all apply to 2018.

2. For the $2600, do I claim the business deductions for membership dues/books (as allowed after political contribution reductions in societies) and then report in 2019 the income? I think I remember something in TurboTax where it asked me if I was reimbursed in 2018 for 2017 expenses. This may actually be beneficial to me since my income will be less next year.

3. Do I even need to report the reimbursement (i.e., don't deduct it and don't report the reimbursement)?

Thanks!

Topic Author
southerndoc

Re: How to Report CME Reimbursement

Post by southerndoc » Fri Feb 15, 2019 5:23 pm

I'm hoping someone might have some guidance here. :)

unclescrooge

Post by unclescrooge » Fri Feb 15, 2019 11:32 pm

Probably nowhere. But then again, IANACPA.

Iridium

Post by Iridium » Fri Feb 15, 2019 11:56 pm

I would think you would report it as business income, but then turn around and deduct it as business expenses (I am assuming you actually spent the allowance in CME).

Details on what can be deducted is here: https://www.irs.gov/publications/p535