Do you ever feel overpaid?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
investingdad

Post by investingdad » Sat Jan 26, 2019 9:45 am

Not a typical question, do you think your overpaid for what you do?

But there are times I've felt as such. I recently looked up salary statistics and per the math, I'm not overpaid at all. I'm a chemical engineer with a little over 20 years experience and compensation was over 130k this year.

But apparently that's just slightly over the national US average for a late career chem e.

It's funny, I partly decided on chem engineering for solid salary potential later on. Now that I'm earning it, it doesn't feel completely justified. I'm quite grateful to be in this position, and I know a lot of BHs earn a lot more than I do. But my role doesn't seem terribly difficult for the level of compensation.

I hope my manager doesn't read this.

RickBoglehead

Re: Do you ever feel overpaid?

Post by RickBoglehead » Sat Jan 26, 2019 9:47 am

I've never felt overpaid. When I was in my highest paying job, back some years ago, I was making a very good living, and felt underpaid.

I've always felt that if you can measure the impact you have on the bottom line of the company, you should be rewarded proportionally. In that position, my contributions, which I was rewarded for, were much more significant than others. While I was paid more, it wasn't that much more.

But I've never felt overpaid.
Avid user of forums on variety of interests-financial, home brewing, F-150, PHEV, home repair, etc. Enjoy learning & passing on knowledge. It's PRINCIPAL, not PRINCIPLE. I ADVISE you to seek ADVICE.

Halicar

Post by Halicar » Sat Jan 26, 2019 9:59 am