Guidance requested

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
smitty1515

Guidance requested

Post by smitty1515 » Sat Jan 12, 2019 12:02 pm

I make this post for guidance and appreciate anyone who takes time to read/provide feedback. I've done more reading than posting over the years and value these opinions because most are pursuing or have obtained financial independence.

Our situation:
Monthly expenses: $5,700/mo
Monthly income: (after tax): $9,600/mo (2 stable W2 incomes - both been with current employer ~ 10/11 yr)
Savings (Roth IRA, 401k, 403b, 529, car fund, cash savings, HSA): $4600/mo (includes employer matches where applicable)
Debt: mortgage with 305k left, 4.125%, origination date Feb 2015 (home worth ~400k) - PMI = $150/mo
Cash:$32,000
HSA: $5,800
Long-term investments: $310,000
529: $18,000

Job satisfaction:
- I work in healthcare and feel I'm living my calling to help patients. Although it's exhausting it's for a worthy cause!
- My wife works in accounting. She doesn't despise her job but doesn't love it either.

The goal:
Financial independence which I define as:
1.) 25 times annual expenses
2.) when passive income equals expenses

To this point our investing has been in low cost index funds. We DCA every month through the different vehicles listed above. I would like to hit FI in the next 10 years and believe with our savings rate, expected modest annual raises, and continuing to live below our means it is within reach. Once we hit FI, I would love to give my wife options which include volunteering, reducing her FTE, finding a different career not predicated on income, benefits, etc, or staying in her current role. The freedom having options provides is what I'm shooting for here.