Physician Loan and Buy vs Rent (already searched forums)

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
jfoster

Physician Loan and Buy vs Rent (already searched forums)

Post by jfoster » Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:41 pm

I've searched prior relevant threads on these topics, but I didn't find one that fit my situation, so I'm asking here. The thrust of the question is whether to buy a home with less than 20% down payment or not. If you're of the opinion that it's never OK, no matter what, you can go ahead and stop reading here and tell me why I'm stupid. If not, read on.

I'm a physician considering a physician home loan (or conventional loan with ~10%). As many have previously pointed out in other threads, these can be a bad idea for new physicians (e.g, job my not work out, may not know area well enough to choose wisely, etc.). However, I'm not a totally new physician. I've been out for 2.5 years. I'm about to make partner in my group, and although I can't see the future, I'm about as sure that the job will work out as anyone could ever reasonably be. I know the area well, and I know exactly where I would and would not want to live. *To me*, it seems reasonable to attempt to buy a home with less than 20% down, so I can at least be gaining equity in the home (as opposed to rent). I am in a high COL area, and literally every rent vs buy calculator has determined that it's *slightly* cheaper for me to rent than to own, but I think this is ignoring the issue of building equity (and therefore net worth). Also, median home prices keep going up.