Moved to new state for final month of 2018 - Roth conversion opportunity?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
gatsby11

Moved to new state for final month of 2018 - Roth conversion opportunity?

Post by gatsby11 » Wed Dec 05, 2018 4:46 pm

I was living and working in New York City, but moved to New Jersey starting December 1st. I'm still working in NYC. My understanding is that since I work in New York I will continue to pay NY state taxes, so this seems to potentially be an opportunity to do Roth conversions as a NJ resident and use up the low NJ state brackets. Is that correct, and if so it a good idea?

I project to have $80k in taxable income for the year (after adjustments for 401k contributions, HSA, and standard deduction). $12k of that will be made in December, but my understanding is it will still be NY taxable income. So it seems that the 1 month I'm an NJ resident my taxable income in NJ will be $0. I understand I only get 1/12 of the standard deduction in NJ for that final month, but they still only tax the first $20k in income at 1.4%, and the next $15k in income at 1.75%.

The federal 22% rate ends at $82.5k. Then I would be converting at the 24% federal rate. Basically I'm thinking I could convert up to $35k from Trad IRA to Roth IRA at a ~23.5% federal and ~1.5% state rate, and pay 25% in taxes on it total.

Should I do this, or is a 25% rate still too high? I have about $60k in my Traditional IRA, and my salary is ~$150k so expect to be in the 24% federal, 6.5% state bracket for the foreseeable future.