What to negotiate in offers

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
HardHitter

What to negotiate in offers

Post by HardHitter » Tue Dec 04, 2018 5:45 am

So as seen in one of my other threads, I will be switching companies for the first time in my career for a great opportunity. Company has mentioned that the formal offer is being finalized and should be provided to me this week. Since this is my first time seeing a actual offer letter, I want to pick everyone's brains in what I should be considering. Additionally, if there is a gap between current company and what new company offers, where do I make that up? Is it something you just ask for them to change specific to me or do you negotiate that into a base salary increase to make up that amount lost? At the end of the day, I don't want to feel like I'm nickle & dimeing them (e.g. if cell phone stipend is different by $10/mo) but I also don't want to leave things on the table.

Total Compensation: I don't think there is anything I need to evaluate here. Base compensation is receiving a significant bump of around 48% and then two bonus offerings in comparison to the one at current company. I'll need to see what the % is for these, but I expect the bonus % and the additional bonus offering over current company will further grow the overall total compensation vs current company easily over 50-55% increase.

401K: Compare current company matching policy vs new. Request funds offered in 401K to compare as well. If match or funds are better at current company, how do I request to makeup this money?

Pension: I'm pretty sure my current company is one of the very few that have a pension plan. How do I bring this into consideration at new company if they don't offer it?