Seeking lot loan to build house

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
malenurse

Seeking lot loan to build house

Post by malenurse » Tue Nov 06, 2018 2:30 pm

Hello community,

Just some personal financial/social info about myself:
Married with 1 kid (5 months) living in the Bay Area CA; I’m 32 y.o. I work as an RN and gross 120k+ a year; my wife does not work. We own a house here that we purchased in 2015 with the original principal amt on the loan being 492k, with the current balance now 360k on the mortgage. Our interest rate is .425%. The final ticket price was 615k and since then Redfin claims the current value is around 711k. We have no other debt besides the mortgage (no car loans). We have around 70k in our emergency. We have together around 50k in 403(b), 10k in Roth and 40k in a separate stock brokerage acct.

So we are seeking a 1 acre lot in WA where we want to build our dream house on. The lot is listed as $200k. The lot is forested and will need power and city water extended to it, also a propane tank and septic system installed. As you probably have guessed by now, the house is not in a developed area; it’s in the mountains. However, there are other houses off the street that are all relatively new and established.

So my question is: how should we finance this? We need to secure the lot first before we can build. I’ve been told that lot loans typically have higher interest rates and require more money down than a house mortgage. I’ve heard that home equity loans and HELOC’s are viable options to pursue to get the cash we need now. Our goal is the sell the CA house in a years time. Obviously once the home is sold we’ll have the cash to pay off the lot loan and start the building process.

I appreciate any advice here guys. Thank you very much.

stoptothink

Re: Seeking lot loan to build house

Post by stoptothink » Tue Nov 06, 2018 2:34 pm