help this RN negotiate job change

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
camillus

help this RN negotiate job change

Post by camillus » Thu Nov 01, 2018 2:32 pm

jump to update --> viewtopic.php?f=2&t=262882&p=4203969#p4203969

Hi all, I am very grateful for this board because of the wisdom and professional insight that is freely given. I come to you asking for help with a few goals of mine:
1) That I behave respectably and professionally to all those involved, maintaining my reputation,
2) that I maximize my compensation, and
3) that I avoid unforeseen trouble.

Situation: I am a Registered Nurse currently employed by the largest hospital system in my region. I am very happy with my position, except for pay. My hospital system tends to be cheap with employees. Two months ago I approached my manager about this, and she said that her hands are tied basically due to the large hospital system and our large 300 RN unit. For what it's worth, I have been rated a "high performer" for 3 years and gotten merit based raises of 4-6% (includes COL). I was hired 4 years ago at the bottom of the pay scale. (The bottom of the pay scale has since been revised upward twice due to "not being competitive." So I am getting small raises but am being chased by the bottom of the payscale being revised upwards.)

I work 12-hour shifts on weekend nights.