Empty nester downsizing - any advice?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
FIREchief

Empty nester downsizing - any advice?

Post by FIREchief » Mon Oct 22, 2018 9:39 pm

Probably a common situation. Adult children have left the nest and DW and I are left with a large paid-for house that we don't need. We're thinking about selling the house, banking the money and just cash flowing the rent at a nice apartment complex. We've previously owned several other houses and rented a duplex and townhouse as well as several apartments. I've always liked the simplicity of renting, especially in a complex where 24/7 maintenance is just a phone call away and somebody else is the one who has to worry about "everything" with the property. Thoughts?? Experiences?? Recommendations??
I am not a lawyer, accountant or financial advisor. Any advice or suggestions that I may provide shall be considered for entertainment purposes only.

Re: Empty nester downsizing - any advice?

Post by 123 » Mon Oct 22, 2018 10:02 pm

The biggest obstacle to downsizing is the clutter you have accumulated. You should immediately attack and eliminate the clutter so that you can take advantage of a good downsizing opportunity that comes along. Putting things in storage is not a reasonable solution.
The closest helping hand is at the end of your own arm.

Beehave

Post by Beehave » Mon Oct 22, 2018 10:40 pm

Two possible concerns come to mind.

(1) Moving away from family (possibly to be in a nicer climate).
(2) Renting into the jaws of an inflation which catches you, as a renter, by surprise.

You may miss your family and you may get priced out of a home. If these are not a concern, renting might be a great option.

SevenBridgesRoad

Post by SevenBridgesRoad » Mon Oct 22, 2018 11:18 pm

123 wrote:
Mon Oct 22, 2018 10:02 pm