Vanguard does not recognize my restricted computer

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Post Reply
Topic Author
letsgobobby
Posts: 12114
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 1:10 am

Vanguard does not recognize my restricted computer

Post by letsgobobby » Sun Oct 14, 2018 12:15 am

Deleted
Last edited by letsgobobby on Tue Apr 23, 2019 9:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

clown
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 2:04 am

Re: Vanguard does not recognize my restricted computer

Post by clown » Sun Oct 14, 2018 1:39 am

Lots of companies (financial and others) do their computer system maintenance and upgrades in the middle of the night. I have seen VG notices announcing such events. Maybe tonight’s the night. Try again in the morning.

User avatar
aspirit
Posts: 457
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 12:52 am
Location: SMA.SFL

Re: Vanguard does not recognize my restricted computer

Post by aspirit » Sun Oct 14, 2018 5:39 am

letsgobobby wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 12:15 am
I limit my Vanguard access to my desktop computer.

Tonight I cannot log in, I get a message that I have restricted access to a single device and Vanguard does not recognize my device.

I’m hoping this is just some Saturday night glitch. :shock:
I heard last week its a new 'device' recognition set-up, in addition to voice recognition.
You need a VG "code" sent to you to set your device's as recognized(maybe IP recognition?), only once.
Theres additionally no more VG Saturday live* interactions w/support staffers of any sort.
Good luck!
Time & tides wait for no one. A man has to know his limitations. | "Give me control of a nation's money and I care not who makes it's laws" | — Mayer Amschel Bauer Rothschild ~

User avatar
LadyGeek
Site Admin
Posts: 55004
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 5:34 pm
Location: Philadelphia
Contact:

Re: Vanguard does not recognize my restricted computer

Post by LadyGeek » Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:26 am

This thread is now in the Investing - Theory, News & General forum (Vanguard login problem).
Wiki To some, the glass is half full. To others, the glass is half empty. To an engineer, it's twice the size it needs to be.

Topic Author
letsgobobby
Posts: 12114
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 1:10 am

Re: Vanguard does not recognize my restricted computer

Post by letsgobobby » Sun Oct 14, 2018 10:16 am

Deleted
Last edited by letsgobobby on Tue Apr 23, 2019 9:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dknightd
Posts: 1656
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:57 am

Re: Vanguard does not recognize my restricted computer

Post by dknightd » Sun Oct 14, 2018 10:18 am

Sometimes an OS upgrade will make your computer unrecognizable.

User avatar
HueyLD
Posts: 6945
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 10:30 am

Re: Vanguard does not recognize my restricted computer

Post by HueyLD » Sun Oct 14, 2018 10:29 am

What this thread suggests is that one probably should not limit Vanguard access to a specific device.

User avatar
tuningfork
Posts: 448
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 8:30 pm

Re: Vanguard does not recognize my restricted computer

Post by tuningfork » Sun Oct 14, 2018 10:48 am

dknightd wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 10:18 am
Sometimes an OS upgrade will make your computer unrecognizable.
A browser upgrade sometimes does that too. With automatic updates by browsers and OS's being increasingly common, you can't easily control when your device looks like a different device.

Topic Author
letsgobobby
Posts: 12114
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 1:10 am

Re: Vanguard does not recognize my restricted computer

Post by letsgobobby » Sun Oct 14, 2018 11:08 am

Deleted
Last edited by letsgobobby on Tue Apr 23, 2019 9:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Turbo29
Posts: 520
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 7:12 am

Re: Vanguard does not recognize my restricted computer

Post by Turbo29 » Sun Oct 14, 2018 11:35 am

I don't think it's done by IP. My IP remains stable for months at a time If I don't power off the router for an extended period of time. Yet I frequently get, "We don't recognize your computer" messages from financial sites when trying to log in. As others have stated this is usually after a browser or OS update.

Don't have a Vanguard account so I don't know how to take care of the issue with them.

Grasshopper
Posts: 974
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 3:52 pm

Re: Vanguard does not recognize my restricted computer

Post by Grasshopper » Sun Oct 14, 2018 11:43 am

This happened to Ms.G's chromebook this week. She was doing her once a year tIRA to Roth conversion. No biggie since we have cross agent authorization. She did it from my CB and called VG in the morning and they just unchecked recognized computer. Kinda strange because we use 2fa with yubie keys, I think it may have been a checked box from years ago she never noticed. But I guess the system worked, not even she got to log on. :oops:

Post Reply