HSA/FSA related question

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
tbxavier

HSA/FSA related question

Post by tbxavier » Thu Oct 11, 2018 7:07 pm

I need help with health savings accounts. I just started learning about HSA and FSA account and would like some advice on how to use them
So here's my situation:
Currently I am enrolled in my workplace high deductible plan with HSA (HDP/HSA). My wife has a regular insurance plan with her job (NO HSA OR FSA).
Open enrollment is this month (October 2018) for both of us and am considering as to what to elect. We both have no children at the moment but plan on getting pregnant in summer of 2019 (God's willing) and we are planning that way. We both have separate insurance plans with our work places as it is cheaper that us being on each other's plan. So my options are as such:

1. I re-enroll in the HDP/HSA plan at work and contribute some funds to the account along with getting my employer match ($600). Since that money is always mine and never goes away, I am planning to use it to help pay for some of my wife's expenses during pregnancy/delivery. Note: both our insurance max out of pocket for the year is around $6000. My wife would be on a regular/traditional insurance plan with no FSA. Is this a good idea?