self-employed professional - the best way to get things started?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
Bones_Jones

self-employed professional - the best way to get things started?

Post by Bones_Jones »

hi guys,

total financial noob here! i posted stuff while back. fast forward 2 years later alot of things have changed.

cliff notes

1. both wife and I are self-employed. both 38.
2. we make combined 270k from home, filed jointly.
3. no home, no more mortgage payment (we plan to buy a home in 2-3 years)
4. no car payments and no other major debts
5. student loan - 500k together :x expect to pay it all off in 7 years.
6. 401k from previous employer - 65k
7. 20k emergency funds

we are living somewhat frugally now(compared to our extravagant lifestyle in the past. :( ) we are saving money for a down payment for a new home. and we have about 7k monthly to invest and finally get the retirement plan going. we both are expected to be self employed for good. we thought about going after the student loan even more aggressively, but decided to invest instead. we are way way too late in the game. so we are kinda desperate to get something going.

here are my questions -

1. i just watched interesting video about SEP IRA vs. solo 401k - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aJP6s04kPkI&t=531s does this apply to us? should i become an S corporation? what happens to my wife then? my employee? i like the idea of saving significant money on taxes.

2. i want to rollover existing 65k from my past employer - so should i open up solo 401k account? backdoor roth IRA? which retirement plan makes best sense for us? :confused we want to put aside about 4k monthly for our retirement accounts. i'm just not sure which one makes best sense for us... and we want to just have 1 accounts together.