Auto sale to relative - sales agreement form?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
MN-Investor

Auto sale to relative - sales agreement form?

Post by MN-Investor » Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:55 pm

I plan on selling my 2012 Hyundai Santa Fe to my niece. What kind of paperwork should I have? Can I just write up a simple "I, MN-Investor, sell my 2012 Hyundai Santa Fe, VIN #xxxx, to MN-Investor-Niece, for $10,000 effective September 14, 2018," then both of us sign and date it?
The key to success - Save early, save often, invest well.

Gill

Re: Auto sale to relative - sales agreement form?

Post by Gill » Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:57 pm

Do you need any paperwork? Just sign over the title and receive her check
Gill

psteinx

Post by psteinx » Tue Sep 11, 2018 6:01 pm

I'm not a lawyer, but mentioning in a (potentially very brief) sales contract that the sale is "as is" might be helpful.

Also, consider encouraging the relative to get an inspection prior to the purchase. It may have problems that even you don't know about.

Jack FFR1846

Post by Jack FFR1846 » Tue Sep 11, 2018 6:02 pm

Depends on the state.

In my state (MA), we've done several relative sales. The selling party wants to fill out a full sales agreement, even if the price is zero. They then submit that along with the plate return receipt from the RMV (can now be done completely online) and an application for abatement to the town tax collector to get exise tax back.

The buyer wants a copy of the sales agreement, the signed title and a relative transfer form so that they don't have to pay sales tax when registering the car. The amount of the sale, regardless of what amount is paid should be listed as $0. This is per the RMV who corrected me my first time when I listed $3500 as the selling price.
Bogle: Smart Beta is stupid

denovo

Post by denovo » Tue Sep 11, 2018 6:02 pm

MN-Investor wrote:
Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:55 pm