Vacation house? Need objective third party

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
bromeliad

Vacation house? Need objective third party

Post by bromeliad » Mon Sep 10, 2018 11:58 am

My spouse and I are considering purchasing a vacation house. We are both 45, two kids in elementary school, have a HHI of $1.5M, own a home worth about $1.2M ($500K left in 15-year mortgage, 12 years left), and have about $1.5M in retirement, $250K for two kids' college funds to which we are still contributing (as a tenured professor, my kids also would qualify for tuition free enrollment, should they decide to attend my university), and about $500K in various checking, CD, and savings accounts. No debt other than the mortgage. We do pay for private school tuition and camps ($70K/year), but are otherwise quite frugal.

We would like to purchase a vacation home, but are having cold feet. This is a waterfront lake house in my spouse's home state (a short flight away near the in laws) where the kids and I would spend the summers, with my spouse spending as much time there as possible (he travels frequently for work). The lake house is $700K. We could buy it in cash with a cash-out refinance of our primary home--$250K from current checking and $450K from the refi. We have been spending the last 10 summers at this lake, and a vacation house we realize is an emotional investment (although we could probably rent it out for $3000/week during the summer, if we needed to). We love our summers on the lake, and feel like we want to put roots down there. We both grew up working class, so there is a lot of emotional baggage/worry about spending this money on a luxury. My spouse is driving himself crazy with "what if" scenarios...

Thoughts?

runner540

Re: Vacation house? Need objective third party

Post by runner540 » Mon Sep 10, 2018 1:37 pm