Trusts and Taxes: Federal and MA and AR state

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
terran

Trusts and Taxes: Federal and MA and AR state

Post by terran » Tue Sep 04, 2018 10:45 am

It looks like I'll be taking over as Trustee for a Special Needs Trust of which my sister is the beneficiary.

The trust was set up as an irrevocable trust by my Grandmother, a Massachusetts resident, while still alive but she is now deceased. My Sister, also a Massachusetts resident, has been disabled since childhood and collects SSI. She is the only current beneficiary. I am an Arkansas resident and will be the only trustee. I am also a secondary beneficiary if my sister dies. There are no other beneficiaries, but if both my sister and I die then my mother, a Massachusetts resident, will receive a full distribution of the trust assets.

I don't know if this is relevant to taxation, but the trust document states:
The Grantor intends, by execution of this Agreement, to create a Massachusetts Trust, to be construed in every respect in accordance with the laws thereof.
To date the trust has had no income (non interest bearing bank account only), so the current trustee has never filed taxes for the trust. I will certainly be investing some of the trust's assets, so I expect to need to file taxes in the future.

My Questions:

1. My understanding is that if a trust has only disabled beneficiaries it can be considered a qualified disability trust and gets a federal exemption equal to the personal exemption (or something like it now that the personal exemption is going away). Am I correct in thinking that this is true even though I am a contingent beneficiary if my sister dies since she is the only beneficiary currently eligible to receive trust distributions and she is disabled?