Mid 30s Crisis: Personal budget, savings and goals

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
WhatsIRR

Mid 30s Crisis: Personal budget, savings and goals

Post by WhatsIRR » Sat Aug 11, 2018 2:34 pm

Sorry this is a bit long and rambling. I’ve had a lot on my mind

I’m new to BH but have always enjoyed personal finance. I’m not completely following BH principles but am using some index funds in the 401k/IRA, the simplicity of BH intrigued me so I am here to learn. I do buy individual stocks since I find the hunt and research enjoyable but may reconsider or dedicate a fixed amount of cash to dabble in.

I’m looking for general guidance and suggestions as I feel like I’m going through an early midlife financial crisis. I think part of it is just my wiring as I always feel like I should be doing better and don’t have enough. Another factor is the wife and I both work in a volatile industry which has been a rough ride the past couple years and probably will continue into the future.

Me: 35 DW: 34 No kids

Salaries:

Me: $200,000
DW: $40,000

Bonuses:

Our bonuses are widely variable, I’ve listed something in the middle:

Me:

Retention: $25,000 (9/1/18, 9/1/19)
Regular: $35,000
RSU: $50,000

Her:

Regular: $5,000

Debt:

Mortgage $195,000 4% 22 years left
Truck $20,000 2% 3 years left

Assets:

Cash: $440,000
401k/IRA: $1,000,000
HSA: $13,000
Taxable: $150,000 (individual stocks; heavily weighted by RSUs I haven’t sold due to bust, looking to exit in 2019)
House: $450,000
House: $100,000(?) inherited. vacant need to do something but not willing to sell yet too much attachment
Real Estate: $75,000 passive in apartment building (cash back 2023)

Contributions:

401k:
Me: $18,500+~$25,000 Company match
DW: $8,000+$1,200 Company match
HSA: $4,500+$2,000 Company Match

Budget: