Charitable Family Foundation - Best way forward

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
surgdoc

Charitable Family Foundation - Best way forward

Post by surgdoc » Sat Jul 21, 2018 2:57 pm

I would like seek advice from lawyer colleagues on this forum with regard to establishing a charitable family foundation. I am a surgeon by trade and plan to start a family foundation for charitable purposes during my retirement life. Desire to start a foundation as opposed to giving to established charities is mainly based on two reasons: One is I want every last red penny go towards intended purposes, not so called overhead. Second one is we can actually decide where the money goes. Vision is to DIRECTLY help medical and educational activities in selected developing countries. I fully understand it requires lot of time invested to do that way. But my wife and I are quire prepared to do it.

After doing some research, we decided to go the route of non profit corporation. I want to run lean operation and decided to use LegalZoom to create a corporation, get EIN, and file for 501(C)(3) status with IRS. We would fund it exclusively with family finances and do not intend to solicit any outside help.

My questions to my lawyer colleagues are:

1. Is this best way forward?

2. Are there any legal or regulatory issues with funding this non profit corp exclusively with family finances, as opposed to typical non profits which solicit funds from multiple sources? I am paraphrasing a sentence from Investopedia website about non-profit corps "Have diverse funding sources. 501(c)(3) organizations are supposed to be public". That sentence raised my question if private family foundations are different entities from IRS qualified non-profit corps.

Thanks in advance!

dm200

Re: Charitable Family Foundation - Best way forward

Post by dm200 » Sat Jul 21, 2018 3:15 pm

surgdoc wrote: