College Saving Plans - Options

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
endeavor

College Saving Plans - Options

Post by endeavor » Fri Jul 20, 2018 4:06 pm

Hello fellow Bogleheades,

I am new to this form, and seek suggestions for college fund investment. I am 36 years old. My kids are 6 and 3. Based on the online resources available, I estimated that, by the time they go to college, both the kids require about $400 k for college costs for a govt university.

I am doing college fund for both the kids through UT 529 plan that should cover around 50% of the college costs for both the kids. I have been hearing from few people that the 529 plans impacts the scholarships. Even if the Kid is eligible to obtain scholarship, colleges typically forces the parents to use the 529 funds (if available), and then scholarship kicks in. The argument here is that the college would let other eligible students (who don't have 529 funds or poor) to use these funds. This is also said by one of the whole life insurance agent (probably his sales pitch).

This confused me and i am hesitating to invest 100% college fund in 529 accounts. Below are my questions:
1. Have any of you heard about this before (scholarships vs 529 funds)?
2. If this argument is not true, do you still recommend to invest 100% college fund in 529 accounts? or should i be looking for different investment option (may be real estate)
3. I am also thinking about opening a Roth IRA account, i've came to know that the funds from Roth IRA can be used for educational expenses (not taxable, and no penalty). Is it a good idea? By the way, i am using the employee sponsored 401K plan for retirement purpose.

Your suggestions are highly appreciated. Thanks.

willthrill81

Re: College Saving Plans - Options

Post by willthrill81 » Fri Jul 20, 2018 5:16 pm