25-year-old military vet/undergrad student in search of advice

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
whiskeytangofinance

25-year-old military vet/undergrad student in search of advice

Post by whiskeytangofinance » Tue Jul 03, 2018 1:14 pm

Hello there, Bogleheads! I am a 25-year-old Marine Corps veteran who cannot thank you enough for all of your help thus far! I first found this forum in 2013 when I was deployed to Afghanistan and it has been one of the main reasons I've felt so financially independent as a young adult. However, confidence in my personal finances has recently dwindled.

I am currently completing my degree after finishing military service. Apart from the psychological discomfort that comes from being an older, "nontraditional" student, I have been feeling less assured with my personal finances since entering college (perhaps this makes me a more traditional student than I realize :wink:).

Since starting school, I have not earned a steady income. The Post-9/11 GI Bill helps pay for my living expenses, but I do not have any other income to grow my wealth--in fact, it is slowly falling. I have stopped putting money towards investments after realizing that doing so dwindled my bank account past a comfortable point. In the past year and a half of being in school, my net worth has dipped slowly and steadily. It's frustrating to see my age go up while my wealth goes down.

My main reason in posting to this forum is to see if anyone has financial advice for someone in my position.

1. Do you recommend I obtain a part-time job if it meant my grades suffered, but my wealth grew?
2. Should I even expect a growth of my wealth while in college?
3. Any sage advice of lessons learned from people in similar positions to mine would be much appreciated.

Some useful information:

Investments: $109,000 (fairly stagnant since starting school)