Question about NY 529 plan

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
md01

Question about NY 529 plan

Post by md01 »

Hello,

I am just starting out on setting up a 529 plan for my child. I am an NYC resident, and plan to contribute through the direct plan offered by NY state as detailed here: https://www.nysaves.org/

In reading about it, I understand we can claim state tax deductions on contributions of up to $5000/year if filing single, and $10000 if filing married filed jointly(MFJ). The plan is for my wife and I to contribute exactly $10000 for this year, so that we can maximize the tax benefit, but how to do so is the question. We have 2 options.

1. Each one of us(my wife and I) sets up an account with my kid as the beneficiary and contributes $5000.0 This is a straightforward method for claiming the tax deduction on the $10000.0

2. We create only one account with one of the us as the owner of the account and our kid as the beneficiary and contribute $10000.0 for this year in that account.

Can we claim the tax deduction on the $10000.0 with option #2 if filing MFJ? If yes, I'd prefer to do so as it requires keeping track of only account. I haven't thought through other benefits of having multiple 529 accounts( as in option 1) - so any pointers on that will be much appreciated as well. Thanks!
Outafter20

Re: Question about NY 529 plan

Post by Outafter20 »

md01 wrote: Sun Jun 24, 2018 7:05 pm Hello,

I am just starting out on setting up a 529 plan for my child. I am an NYC resident, and plan to contribute through the direct plan offered by NY state as detailed here: https://www.nysaves.org/