Special Needs Trust

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
pete1983

Special Needs Trust

Post by pete1983 » Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:22 am

Long time reader, first time poster.

I am a 35yo physician just finishing up my last few years of training and trying to figure out finances. I have an 8 yo daughter who was born prematurely and has a lot of medical needs. Luckily, I am in the military and her healthcare is covered 100%. I don't have a lot of assets (~$150,000) but I do have 2.5 million in term life insurance because if my daughter's special needs. The decision to stay in the military or get out at the end of my obligation will likely be based on my daughters healthcare expenses.

Any advice on setting up special needs trust to be funded with my life insurance upon my death. Alternatively, If I live to a ripe old age, how do plan for a child who is unlikely to be financially independent in the future?

I have 3 other children and a wife to consider as well in this equation.

How much has it cost you to setup special needs trusts? I got a quote once for 3-4K which seemed excessive, but I am not sure.

Thanks!

bsteiner

Re: Special Needs Trust

Post by bsteiner » Thu Jun 14, 2018 11:20 am

The trust for the child with special needs is for the most part the same as the trust for the child without special needs. The difference is that, depending on the nature of the disability, the child with special needs may have a lesser degree of control (or no control at all) over his/her trust.

When a child has special needs, we also add some language saying what's intended. But that's more for show since people expect to see it.

Of course, certain distributions could result in the loss of government benefits. But that goes to the administration rather than the drafting.