Can a Retired 60 yo MD, MBA Start a Law Career?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
TheNightsToCome

Can a Retired 60 yo MD, MBA Start a Law Career?

Post by TheNightsToCome » Sun Jun 03, 2018 6:54 pm

I am a former healthcare equity analyst with the CFA designation and an MBA from a top-tier school. I am currently a 59 yo physician with an MD also from a top-tier school.

My contract is up at the end of next year when I expect to have a liquid net worth of about 45 times our (modest) average annual expenses, plus a house. That provides the option to pursue law.

I considered a transition to law as an intern and spoke with a prominent healthcare lawyer who was also an MD. He told me that if I attended a top school and did well, then I could earn about $72,000 per year (this was 1987). However, I had substantial med school debt and was only two years from a six-figure income. At the time, I was afraid to take on more debt in order to earn much less several years later.

I'm fairly confident that I would have the credentials to attend a top-tier law school, but:

1. Would law schools decline to accept me because of my age?

2. If I attended a top-tier school with the goal of becoming a law professor, would universities decline to hire me because of my age (assuming my credentials were very competitive in every other way)?