Employer Forcing Transfer of 529

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
GatorBait2018

Employer Forcing Transfer of 529

Post by GatorBait2018 » Thu May 31, 2018 11:21 am

Long-time lurker, but first-time poster to the forum here, so please let me know if I have violated any norms or rules with my format.

My wife and I have been investing in a 529 plan for my son since he was born 2 years ago. My wife works as a consultant for a Big 4, and was recently promoted. As part of the promotion, she had to undergo an ethics/compliance review of all of our investments (cue my blood pressure rising having to share that info). Well, the only issue that came back to us was our investment in our 529 plan. The funds are invested in an index fund, but the issue is not the underlying investment, but the 529 advisor.

We invest through our state's 529 plan, which provides some tax benefits for us. But they are now telling me that I either need to change 529 plans to a pre-approved option, of which our state has no options so we wouldn't get the subsequent tax benefit, OR my other option is to transfer ownership of the account to a trusted relative. Neither of them sound like great options to me.

I'm curious if anyone on the board has some insight into this, specifically around the below questions. I've done some searching, but can't seem to find definitive answers.

1. Is this legal for an employer to say you cannot invest in a state-sponsored plan?

2. I've searched and it appears that there are no tax implications to transfer ownership to my father, and keep the beneficiary as my son. However, I'm curious about tax consequences down the line, for example, if my father were to pass away, or become incompetent (medically). Does this get counted towards his estate potentially? If we do transfer it back to my ownership, would this trigger a taxable event?