Treasury yields climbing...tap the brakes on paying low interest student loans?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
hightower

Treasury yields climbing...tap the brakes on paying low interest student loans?

Post by hightower » Tue Apr 24, 2018 12:52 pm

I'm sitting on around 85k of student loans at 2.6% fixed for 20 years. Payments are 488/month. Now that we see the costs of borrowing are going up (treasury yields hit 3% today), does that change anyone's mind on the pay off debt vs invest argument?

My plan was to pay this all off by the end of the year vs at least saving up enough cash to pay it off in that amount of time. However, with interest rates climbing and the price of stocks going down, I'm wondering if it's time to start considering opening a taxable account instead of finishing off this last bit? I'm a physician and started with over 260k. We have a very reasonable mortgage (barely 1X annual income) and lot's of equity, but no other consumer debt. I'm VERY debt averse nowadays and have no plans on upgrading our lifestyle or doing any wild spending. I am certain that if I don't pay it off, I'd be investing the extra cash, not spending it.

I'm probably still going to pay it off, I'm just curious if anyone else is starting to think about changing their plans based on how the economy is starting to change?

Pajamas

Re: Treasury yields climbing...tap the brakes on paying low interest student loans?

Post by Pajamas » Tue Apr 24, 2018 12:57 pm

I would compare after-tax to see if paying off the low-interest loan would be better than holding a safe investment such as treasuries. Twenty years is a long time and even if it is just near equivalent now, it might be greatly in your favor to hold the loan in the future. Of course, the difference on $85k might not matter to you.