Interesting vs higher paying job

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
TheTurtle

Interesting vs higher paying job

Post by TheTurtle » Fri Apr 20, 2018 9:00 am

Hello all,

This might be a question without a precise answer, but I wanted to get different perspectives. Really, I want to hear if anyone here has been in a similar position, and what actions they took.

I am a postdoctoral researcher in a STEM field , getting to the end of my project. I have two options for the immediate future. One is working for a research lab (federal or close enough) in HCOL areas . The other is silicon valley type job (VHCOL). The latter pays significantly higher (2x), but the work is not as interesting to me personally. Govt research job will not be permanent /guaranteed either. It is more technically challenging, but like all research, high risk high reward (the reward being a sense of accomplishment, not money). Taking option 2 would essentially change my career path away from basic research, and it's difficult to come back I guess.

My conundrum is that I am already mid 30s and having spent a lot of time in grad school and as a postdoc, am I just depressing my career trajectory by taking option 1? Still kinda living like a grad student, and at some point I need to think about increasing earnings. Currently with just slightly positive NW, renting and saving for future down-payment. So far always thought doing what I want/enjoy is primary goal, and resisted keeping up with the Joneses. But how does one hold steady when trusted friends and colleagues are saying that I should be realistic and get a real paying job like them. FYI, significant other has job that would not change in scope or pay in either location. Thought of living in silicon Valley is daunting though.Other than that, we're LBYM, and don't really aspire to million dollar mansions and yachts.
Thoughts?

jebmke