First Time Homebuyer buying a FSBO home, help!

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
rbhgncmp

First Time Homebuyer buying a FSBO home, help!

Post by rbhgncmp » Sun Apr 15, 2018 5:46 pm

I'm 25 and about to purchase my first home. I am an attorney so I know somewhat about the process, but should I pay for a realtor? I've found the home I wanted and we have come to an agreement on the price. I talked with a local realtor who said he would be my agent for $850. What would you all do? What would the agent do beyond draw up the purchase K?

Pajamas

Re: First Time Homebuyer buying a FSBO home, help!

Post by Pajamas » Sun Apr 15, 2018 5:48 pm

How do real estate closings take place in your state? What would a real estate agent do for the $850? That's something you should ask the agent!

Mlm

Post by Mlm » Sun Apr 15, 2018 5:57 pm

I purchased a FSBO. The seller had a standard purchase offer that I had my attorney review. The attorney also gave me a disclosure form to have the seller fill out. In hired an inspector and my attorney handled the title insurance and the closing with the sellers attorney.
I never even considered hiring a RE Agent. Why would you need one?
Reality has a way of catching up with you

retiredjg

Post by retiredjg » Sun Apr 15, 2018 6:05 pm

I'm all for doing it yourself. I've done it using forms downloaded from the internet specific to my state and it worked fine. It was my 4th home sale (not purchase).