How does everyone here earn so much?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
markesquire

How does everyone here earn so much?

Post by markesquire » Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:47 am

I'm a relatively new reader here, and I appreciate all of the wisdom and information.

Many of the threads here begin with an OP describing their situation and asking the group for input. I'm often surprised by how many of these posts come from people earning over $200k, which is a very high salary from my perspective, and I'm an attorney living in a high COL city. But that type of salary doesn't seem abnormal in the posts here.

So, are those high salaries abnormal in reality but common here because this is a financial forum that happens to appeal to high earners, or are tons of people quietly earning far higher salaries than they let on? If the latter is true, maybe I need some advice on increasing my salary. No one ever taught me how to effectively maximize salary -- in fact, the people who know (higher ups) have every incentive to keep newer employees in the dark. And since joining the workforce after the recession, in my experience the economy is a buyers' (employer's) market, where the employer doesn't need to offer raises/promotions because there's a long line of applicants waiting for your job if you're not happy. In my experience, the only way to get a raise has been to change employers.

onourway

Re: How does everyone here earn so much?

Post by onourway » Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:50 am

Self selection. People who are likely to be interested in investing and finance are more likely than average to have good incomes.

How many years do you have in the workforce?

PhysicianOnFIRE

Post by PhysicianOnFIRE » Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:51 am

markesquire wrote:
Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:47 am