Balance sheet for S Corp Return

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
White Coat Investor

Balance sheet for S Corp Return

Post by White Coat Investor » Wed Mar 14, 2018 12:05 am

So this is my first year doing an S Corp return, and I made enough that I do have to do the "balance sheet" sections (L, M1 and maybe M2). And I've realized that despite keeping incredibly detailed income and expense records, I don't think I've technically ever made a balance sheet for my little business. Part of that is because a great deal of the value is intangible- brand, trademark, etc which I can't put a balance on anyway apparently and the main part of the value is the website itself, the value of which is at least very fuzzy and extremely illiquid.

So what does that leave me with? Well, pretty much the cash in the bank account on Jan 1 as assets and whatever was due on the credit card bill as a liability. I guess I never really worried about this when I was filing as a sole proprietorship and a partnership (and really now) since it's all pass through income and fully taxable to me anyway, even if I leave it in the company bank account. So I just treated it as though the bank account had $0 in it every January 1st. But now I'm worried that reporting a bunch of zeros on this balance sheet is going to cause me problems, so I think I better create one, not only for the end of year, but also the beginning of the year.

Any tips for making your first balance sheet? Anybody have any idea how much the IRS actually cares about the accuracy of L, M1, and M2 on the 1120S?
1) Invest you must 2) Time is your friend 3) Impulse is your enemy | 4) Basic arithmetic works 5) Stick to simplicity 6) Stay the course

fishmonger

Re: Balance sheet for S Corp Return

Post by fishmonger » Wed Mar 14, 2018 8:42 am