Laid off ...next steps

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
kd2008

Laid off ...next steps

Post by kd2008 » Fri Feb 16, 2018 8:18 am

I got laid off on Tuesday. Our small satellite office of 4 people got shut down and everyone was let go. I am 36 and this is my first time experience with this event.

Financially I am ok. I have money in high yield savings accounts that amounts to 1 year worth of expenses. My retirement pile is about 25x current expenses - not accounting for healthcare premiums and expenses.

I am offered 18 weeks pay plus 2 weeks pto paid out. Also cobra will be paid for 6 months.

I still have 45 days to review sign and return the agreement.

I applied for unemployment.

My expenses were minimal (under 24K/yr). Without vacation and stuff, I would imagine it will be lower. I do anticipate about 5K in immigration related expenses. These will be new and an one time expense.

I have started applying for jobs. I have not tapped into my network yet. I have a Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering. I am anticipating that if I get a new job, it will not pay as before. I am anticipating a 8 to 10 month search.

Please advice on things I need to consider and plan for.

Thank you.

stan1

Re: Laid off ...next steps

Post by stan1 » Fri Feb 16, 2018 8:24 am