Seeking career advice - Software Engineer

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
timboktoo

Seeking career advice - Software Engineer

Post by timboktoo » Sun Feb 11, 2018 6:40 pm

I am a software engineer at a company that has recently had a reorganization. My boss, his boss and his boss were all laid off or forcefully repositioned. Some of my coworkers were let go. My coworkers and I are all very upset. This appears to be a cost-cutting initiative, even though the company is growing strong still. Many of the people who were let go were the best employees we had. They brought considerable value to the company.

Going to this job in the flesh has become unbearable. The atmosphere has become toxic to me. I am trying to decide what to do about it. My intuition has decided on the following course, but I wanted to run my decision by the community here, in addition to my friends and mentors, before executing on it.

My gut right now is telling me to continue to work for this company, but to do so from home. My salary is high and hard to match locally. Disconnecting myself from the building should help me avoid the toxicity of the environment. Meanwhile, I intend to learn new technologies, to reignite my passion and give myself more options for my next position. I have been developing almost exclusively in Ruby/Rails for the last 11 years. I intend to learn Node.js, MongoDB, Angular, Go and Java on the side. I already have experience with AWS, but I intend to increase that experience, as I currently have no experience with DynamoDB.