Is it time for me to "call in rich"?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
bhsince87

Is it time for me to "call in rich"?

Post by bhsince87 »

I've been planning for a long time to retire in the year I turn 55. That is two years from now. But I am thinking about hitting the silk earlier. Like, in the next few weeks... So this will be the proverbial "can we really pull this off?" post.

This year, I turn 53. I've been investing since 1987 (hence my name here), and the market has been kind. For a long time, I had a goal ("number") of $1.5 million. Then when we hit that, I raised it to $2 million. Then $2.5 million.

Now we're at at $3.2 million!

My salary is highly bonus dependent. It varies between $100k and $180k per year. Plus I get a 12% 401K match. The last few years have been at the high end. My wife, DW, makes $55k per year with a 6% match. She also has an online business that nets $15k-$20k per year. It takes up an hour of her time most evenings, which is when I cook!

We currently have about $1.6 million in 401k's. That is almost all traditional ( tax deferred), except for $25k in a Roth. I've also got $60k in after tax contributions that I can roll into a "mega backdoor Roth" when I decide to do so.

And we have $1.7 million in after tax accounts. Currently, $300k of that is in CDs and cash accounts. About $900k of the after tax is in individual stocks, with about $600k of capital gains.

I will get a $10k per year non-COLA pension at age 65. Social Security for me at FRA (67) is about $30k. For DW, about $24k.