Should I use my high expense ratio PA 529 vs the cheaper vanguard (Nevada) plan for asset protection?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
HeyAnesthesia

Should I use my high expense ratio PA 529 vs the cheaper vanguard (Nevada) plan for asset protection?

Post by HeyAnesthesia » Sun Dec 31, 2017 10:46 am

Pennsylvania offers asset protection from creditors if I invest in my home state 529, but their expense rations are nearly double Vanguard's Nevada options (0.33 for the PA 529 total stock fund vs 0.18 for vanguard). I am a physician with good malpractice insurance (3M limit, 1M per occurrence), but there is always the possibility of a catastrophic injury resulting in a high dollar lawsuit that exceeds my coverage.

A lawsuit of that nature would be unlikely, but still entirely possible. Any advice on whether I should pay the higher in state fees for the extra security?

For reference:
Vanguard options
https://investor.vanguard.com/529-plan/ ... nd-returns

PA 529 options
http://www.pa529.com/pdf/ip/IP-Disclosure-Statement.pdf

Silk McCue

Re: Should I use my high expense ratio PA 529 vs the cheaper vanguard (Nevada) plan for asset protection?

Post by Silk McCue » Sun Dec 31, 2017 12:18 pm

That’s $33 vs $18 annually per $10k invested.

The price for peace of mind is $15 per year on each $10k in the account. Seems like it might be a reasonable price to pay.

HeyAnesthesia

Re: Should I use my high expense ratio PA 529 vs the cheaper vanguard (Nevada) plan for asset protection?

Post by HeyAnesthesia » Sun Dec 31, 2017 12:48 pm